DVD review: “The Magicians Season 3” (2018)

“The Magicians: Season 3” (2018)



Thirteen Episodes

Created by: Sera Gamble & John McNamara

Featuring: Jason Ralph, Stella Maeve, Olivia Taylor Dudley, Hale Appleman, Arjun Gupta, Summer Bishil, Rick Worthy, Jade Tailor, Brittany Curran, Trevor Einhorn

This month sees the release of the third season of the well received television series “The Magicians” (2016 – present) which has gone from strength to strength over its three seasons.

Based on the bestselling novels from Lev Grossman, Syfy’s hit drama “The Magicians” centers on Quentin Coldwater (Jason Ralph) and his 20-something friends as they discover their magical abilities at Brakebills University, a secret grad school specializing in magic. While there, they come to the realization that the fantasies they read about as children are all too real, and unwittingly invite a malevolent entity from the other side into their lives. Heading into Season 2, this group of unlikely heroes have been thrust into even more dangerous and unfamiliar territory, and must draw upon their novice skills to defeat a threat that could destroy the magical world itself. Driven by power, revenge and survival, they learn that those who entered the hauntingly beautiful world of Fillory will never be the same as those who leave.


  1. The Tales of the Seven Keys: Quentin tries to find someone who can bring magic back; Julia explores her small, but significant gift; Eliot and Margo struggle under the hostile fairy occupation; Kady searches for a way to heal Penny.
  2. Heroes and Morons: Eliot travels to a faraway place in search of a special object; Alice runs from a monster; Quentin, Kady and Josh continue the desperate search for magic; Penny’s condition worsens.
  3. The Losses of Magic: Alice and visit her parents; Kady and Julia explore new methods to heal Penny.
  4. Be the Penny: As Eliotis hunted, Quentin and Julia discover a powerful secret tied to the history of Brakebills.
  5. A Life in the Day: Julia helps Alice navigate a personal crisis; Quentin and Eliot go on an adventure.
  6. Do You Like Teeth?: Quentin faces his most formidable foe yet as Julia helps Alice with a dangerous endeavor.
  7. Poached Eggs: Margo makes a bold stand against the Fairy Queen. Quentin and Penny try to retrieve a lost item.
  8. Six Short Stories About Magic: Julia and Fen investigate a dangerous group of Magicians as Eliot and Margo’s reign is challenged.
  9. All That Josh: Quentin, Kadyand Alice try to convince an old friend to return home.
  10. The Art of the Deal: Quentin and Alice search the castle for an important object while Julia and Fen work with an enemy.
  11. Twenty-Three: The group strategizes as Josh and Julia travel to a familiar place and are given a chance to help.
  12. The Fillorian Candidate: The political situation in Fillory comes to a head. Julia makes amends and Alice makes a confession.
  13. Will You Play With Me?: The group finds what they’re looking for and attempt once and for all to get magic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s